Some gifts from Harry Hernandez – Puerto Rican Artist & Educator

I went to Puerto Rico in April of this year, 2009 and met some wonderful new friends. The time will come soon for me to share more about my trip, but for now I will briefly introduce you to one of the handful of people I met.

Harry Hernandez, an Artist and Professor at one of Puerto Rico’s Universities, spent some time with Artemis, Eli and I while there. We became fast friends, talking about art, music, comic books, politics, raising kids over cafe con Leche and museum visits. Upon leaving for the airport Harry gave gifts to myself and my traveling companions.

So now I share with you a bit of art… Pencil, ink, watercolor, acrylic, tissue paper and various mediums on artboard.















stay tuned in for more works and some words with Harry Hernandez.

check out some more works via UWISHUNU PHILLY This article highlights an exhibit of works by Harry Hernandez that may or may not still be showing at the Lorenzo Homar Gallery in Philadelphia, PA.

Check for it.

Tweet This Blog Post!

4 thoughts on “Some gifts from Harry Hernandez – Puerto Rican Artist & Educator

  1. Nice, I love the second one down, reminds me of my grandmothers old tomato sewing pin cushion! What a far out memory I have not had since a little boy! They all look like straight up watercolor bought from the grocery store was used but there is really alot to these images I see.

    • I know exactly what you are talking about… my mother has one and my girlfriend does too! it’s funny, because I believe it to be like the sacred heart with thorns, but I was reminded of the cushion too.

Leave a Reply

