Artist Flashback: Zdzislaw Beksinski – (1925-2005)

I don’t know why I didn’t think about it until my dad let’s Artemis borrow this book… Fact is, I have such an awesome resource of art in my father. He has stacks of art books by painters, photographers, sculptors, etc. from all over the world, that he has collected since before I was even born.

So I’m starting my Artist Flashbacks with Zdzislaw Beksinski. A very respected Polish Fantasy Artist. His paintings and sketches are dark, post apocalyptic and surreal. Now, I’ve seen this book for years in my dads collection and have looked through it, but it wasn’t until just the other day that I really “Looked” at it. Truly amazing works.



sketch 1966

oil, 1969, 123cm x 99cm

oil, 1974, 73cm x 87cm

oil, 1980, 73cm x 61cm

oil, 1972, 61cm x 73cm

oil, 1984, 87cm x87cm

oil, 1971, 150cm x 122cm

oil, 1977, 122cm x 73cm

sketch, 1973, 80cm x 65cm

“True to the image of his work, Beksinski is a secluded man. He does not appear in public, and does not exhibit his paintings. When museums or collectors exhibit them he does not show up. He works on his paintings twelve hours a day against a background of classical music. They are always painted on hardboard, signed on the back, and they bear no titles.” – Piotr Dmochowski

Tweet This Blog Post!

3 thoughts on “Artist Flashback: Zdzislaw Beksinski – (1925-2005)

  1. i like this work even though it is morbid and based on death and destruction and alittle hellish the art is dope but sometimes a little nightmarish

Leave a Reply

